This website uses Cookies
Privacy Policy | Close
MK challenges Cornwall’s MPs to oppose Devonwall
The leader of Mebyon Kernow has challenged Cornwall’s six MPs to commit themselves to opposing the imposition of a “Devonwall” parliamentary seat.

Political commentators had believed the plan to reduce the number of MPs from 650 to 600 – which would also lead to the creation of a cross-Tamar seat – was unlikely to proceed because of the level of opposition.

But recent newspaper reports have stated the ten MPs of the Democratic Unionist Party may be reversing their opposition to the boundary changes, and that the Prime Minister could be promising peerages to Tory MPs who would lose their seats in the changes.

MK leader Cllr Dick Cole said: “It is extremely worrying to hear that the Conservatives are looking to breathe life back into the Boundary Review process, which would ignore a thousand years of history and lead to a cross-Tamar seat. In terms of Cornwall , it would fail to respect the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities.

“It is to be welcomed that Cornwall ’s MPs have secured an adjournment debate to push the case for a tickbox on the 2021 census, but they also need to use their influence to stop a Devonwall seat becoming a reality.

“I am calling on the MPs to pledge now that they will actively oppose a cross-Tamar seat and their votes in the House of Commons to respect Cornwall ’s territoriality.”

Further information

On 21st November 2017 , Cornwall Councillors backed a cross-party motion against the Devonwall proposal. The strength of the vote for the motion (and against a cross-Tamar seat) was so great that the Chairman, Mary May, did not even bother to ask if there were any votes against the motion.

The agreed motion called on the Prime Minister and the UK Governmen t (a) take measures to end the parliamentary boundary review and stop the imposition of a cross-Tamar Devonwall constituency, and (b) ensure that future boundary reviews respect the articles of the Framework Convention for the Protection of National Minorities and guarantee that parliamentary constituencies remain fully within the boundaries of Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly.

Information, Tags and Sharing
Published on 3rd June 2018.

Popular News